Tap for menu


Posted on May 6, 2009

Progressive metal legends DREAM THEATER have announced their tenth studio album Black Clouds & Silver Linings (due out June 22) will be made available in multiple formats, including a collector’s edition deluxe box set.

In addition to the standard CD which is over 70 minutes of new music, the album will also be available as a three-disc Special Edition that will include the full album, a CD of instrumental mixes of the album, and a CD of six cover songs, as well as expanded artwork and packaging. Five of the six songs covered will be made available digitally one per week from May 18 – and fans will only learn which songs were covered on each day of release! The remaining cover will only be available in the Special Edition package. Dream Theater are also excited to reveal an extraordinary Collector’s Edition Deluxe Box Set. A very limited run will be made of a silver lined black velvet box, with the Dream Theater logo embossed in silver foil on the front.

The box will contain three CDs + one DVD in mini jackets with their own artwork designed by legendary artist Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden), as well as additional items detailed below:

CD 1 (the standard album):
1. A Nightmare to Remember
2. A Rite of Passage
3. Wither
4. The Shattered Fortress
5. The Best of Times
6. The Count of Tuscany

CD 2: 6 cover songs – titles to be revealed, one per week from May 18

CD 3: Instrumental versions of the 6 album tracks

DVD: Producer’s Edition DVD of stem mixes of the album allowing you to do your own mixes of the songs – i.e. some stems will be drums, backing vocals, guitars etc… you mix these like a mixer would, so if you want to hear the mix with the bass extra loud and without solos, you can do that or if you just want to hear the guitars to learn how to play the songs, you can do that too.

Additional items:
Dream Theater mouse mat, exclusively available with box set
Limited edition numbered lithograph of cover art by Hugh Syme (100 lucky fans will find a litho personally signed by the Artist)
Limited edition Audiophile 180-Gram Double LP set with exclusive artwork from Hugh Syme
Plus… find a silver ticket and win a meet & greet with the band!

Pre-order the collecters edition box set at the following stores:

DREAM THEATER will play the Main Stage on Sunday June 14 at the Download Festival. The band also perform two warm-up shows at Leeds Academy (June 12) and Southampton Guildhall (June 13).


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.