Tap for menu
Dana Dentata


Posted on May 28, 2010

Tommy Lee has rocked every continent multiple times, sold millions of records with Motley Crue and on his own, done everything a musician dreams of doing, except he’s never made a record with the entire world. The new METHODS OF MAYHEM, now entitled A PUBLIC DISSERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT, is set for release on September 20th and features Tommy Lee collaborating with the world. Lee commented, “When I founded Methods in 1999, the whole purpose of the band was to be all over the place. In keeping with that, this Methods isn’t anything like the last one. There’s no hip hop and there’s no roster of guest stars. This time, it’s me, my band, and the world.” Please see below for the track listing for A PUBLIC DISSERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT.

Tommy Lee and his team, including producer Scott Humphrey, singer-guitarist J3 and others, wrote and recorded the songs for the new album, then made the core components of each available for download on www.thepublicrecord.com to anyone who wished to add their playing or otherwise re-interpret the music however they saw fit. Lee listened to every single submission that was uploaded, chose the best, and integrated the actual audio tracks into the album’s final cuts. Every single musician whose part was used is credited and thanked on the album.

The song files were made available on The Public Record on October 5th, 2009. By the end of the submission period in February, 2010, the page was viewed over 1 million times and over 10,000 submissions were uploaded. What came back once the public got its hands on the raw ingredients was truly all over the map – just as Tommy Lee had hoped. The diverse submissions included techno tracks sent in from Japan, hand drum rhythms from India and searing guitar solos from as close to home as San Diego.

Methods of Mayhem self-titled debut was released in 1999 and was certified RIAA Gold. The album featured Snoop Dogg, Kid Rock and Fred Durst among others. Methods Of Mayhem’s set was a featured highlight of 2000’s Ozzfest.


1. Drunk Uncle Pete
2. Time Bomb
3. Louder
4. Fight Song
5. Blame
6. Two Ways
7. Talk Me Off The Ledge
8. Only One
9. All I Wanna Do
10. Back To Before
11. Party Instructions

Bookmark and Share


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.