Tap for menu


Posted on August 24, 2011

…we released a few titles as well as welcoming KISS to the Roadrunner roster. We also posted some PORCUPINE TREE news, all of which you can see below!

On this day in 2007…KILLSWITCH ENGAGE released the special edition of As Daylight Dies:

Grammy Nominated, ground-breaking and genre-defining hard rock band Killswitch Engage is back in the studio recording AS DAYLIGHT DIES, the follow up to the 2004 breakout album, The End of Heartache, and 2005’s GOLD certified DVD, (Set This) World Ablaze. The quintet, who have risen to the highest echelon of the hard rock genre and have influenced many bands in the process, will release their fourth album and third for Roadrunner, on November 21st. With The End of Heartache approaching GOLD certification, the members of Killswitch Engage are currently writing and recording at Zing Studios in their hometown of Westfield, MA. Guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz (Underoath, Unearth) is handling production and mixing duties, as he has on all previous KsE releases. Everyone is excited about the new material,” says bassist Mike D’Antonio. “We went back to the basics of everyone contributing on this record. We can’t wait to get it out.” The band, scheduled to perform at the famed Reading and Leeds festivals in the UK in August, will hit the road for a string of US dates this fall.

As Daylight Dies (Special Edition)
Release Date: August 24, 2007
1. Daylight Dies
2. This is Absolution
3. The Arms of Sorrow
4. Unbroken
5. My Curse
6. For You
7. Still Beats Your Name
8. Eye of the Storm
9. Break The Silence
10. Desperate Times
11. Reject Yourself
12. Be One
13. Let The Bridges Burn
14. This Fire
15. Holy Diver
16. My Curse (and the making of) – VIDEO
17. The Arms of Sorrow (and the making of) – VIDEO
18. Holy Diver – VIDEO

We found a HILARIOUS video of Howard and Adam going through the standard version of the album and demonstrating what each track sounds like, without using instruments!? You can watch that clip below:

There’s also one of the most awkward interviews online with the band about the album release, which you can LOL at below:

Another release on this day in 2007 was Divine Heresy’s Bleed The Fifth:

Bleed The Fifth Release
Date: August 24, 2007

1. Bleed The Fifth
2. Failed Creation
3. This Threat Is Real
4. Impossible Is Nothing
5. Savior Self
6. Raise Of The Scorned
7. False Gospel
8. Soul Decoded (Now And Forever)
9. Royal Blood Heresy
10. Closure
11. Purity Defiled (Japan Exclusive)

On this day in 2009, KISS announced that SONIC BOOM—the band’s highly anticipated CD, and its first new material in 11 years would be released in the UK and Europe through Loud & Proud/Roadrunner Records on 5th October 2009 . SONIC BOOM, produced by the band’s Paul Stanley in Los Angeles, features 11 brand-new KISS anthems from the band that has sold over 80 million albums worldwide in a 35-year recording career.

KISS’ Gene Simmons says, “SONIC BOOM may be the best new record we’ve done since Destroyer! It is Rock And Roll Over meets Love Gun!” Paul Stanley confirms: “SONIC BOOM is the perfect title for what we’re creating – it’s earthshaking and deafening!”

SONIC BOOM is the first new KISS studio album to feature guitarist Tommy Thayer alongside Paul Stanley, Gene Simmons and drummer Eric Singer. It will be available as a single disc and also in a special three-disc set featuring a completely re-recorded greatest hits CD as well as a live DVD shot in Argentina during the band’s recent, record-breaking KISS ALIVE 35 South American tour.

Paul Stanley, “”Through all of the albums that are considered our classics, we tried to always find ways to give our fans extras that went beyond just the music. Besides our making the best KISS album in decades, including a bonus CD with 15 of our most famous songs and an additional live DVD, shot during our recent concert in Buenos Aires. So in every sense, SONIC BOOM is the ultimate return to classic KISS form. You wanted the best, you got the best!”. You can read the entire news story HERE.

Staying in 2009, we posted a story on our website on this day with Steven Wilson, front man with soundscape masters PORCUPINE TREE. Steve sat down with us here in the Roadrunner UK office to talk us through the 5 tracks that make up the stunning album THE INCIDENT. Head over to that news piece (HERE) to watch part 1 of the Track By track interview, which covers the 55 minute title track, which makes up CD 1 of the 2 CD album. Here are some videos on the Roadrunner UK YouTube page about the album, The Incident:


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.