Tap for menu
Dana Dentata


Posted on February 26, 2010

Mike Portnoy, drummer with prog-metal legends DREAM THEATER, has written a blog for Decibel about the band recording a brand new track from the forthcoming God Of War EP:

It’s pretty amazing that in our 25-year career, this was the first time we were asked to contribute a song to a soundtrack! Film directors and TV producers take note!

In any case, when we were asked to contribute a song to Roadrunner’s God of War 3 soundtrack, the initial reactions of “But we don’t have any leftovers from the last album” or “But we are in the middle of a tour” quickly turned to “Hey, this could be cool” and “Hmmm. Why the hell not?”

Dream Theater has been in the traditional ‘write, record, tour, write, record, tour’ pattern for almost 20 years straight now and there’s no question that the days of ‘traditional’ approaches in this industry are disappearing quickly. Bands can now record and release individual songs—especially via downloads—much like it was it was in the late ‘50s and early ‘60s.

Not that I necessarily would want to work that way full-time with DT, as I am very much an ‘album-oriented’ artist…however, in the case of this soundtrack offer, it seemed to be very doable…

Click here to read the full interview…

The EP has 6 new tracks from Roadrunner heavy weights (check that track listing below) and will be available digitally from tht 8th March.

1. Killswitch Engage – My Obsession
2. Trivium – Shattering The Skies Above
3. Dream Theater – Raw Dog
4. Taking Dawn – This Is Madness
5. Opeth – The Throat Of Winter
6. Mutiny Within – The End

Bookmark and Share


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.