Tap for menu
Unto Others


Posted on February 12, 2008

MEGADETH mainman Dave Mustaine was the featured guest on Tuesday night's (March 20) “The Radio 1 Rock Show with Daniel P. Carter” on BBC Radio 1. Listen to the interview online at BBC.co.uk (the Dave Mustaine interview begins approximately one hour, 10 minutes into the program).

When asked about MEGADETH's touring plans in support of the band's upcoming “United Abominations” album, Mustane said, “One of the things that we really wanna do is to look at what our touring potential is. And we've got a pretty busy year. Because I'm a little older, I've got a nerve problem in my back and I can't play as many days in a row. That's one of the things that is important for me — really taking care of myself and utilizing my time on the road well. That means I'm gonna play less, and that means the concerts need to be more important, the way that they're planned and routed. There's so many territories that have to be done on this record, this tour will probably be a year and a half. I imagine that if everything goes according to the plans that my health holds up — the primary purpose of this whole thing is to allow me to function at my optimum health — it could be a two-year campaign. Because there needs to be time off in between each leg for me to nurture my family, because I just resolved heading for divorce, and that was really a terrible thing. It was not meant to be public, but because of the vultures that wait on my bedpost for everything I ever say — everything I do is on a particular web site — and it was unfortunate. We're together — my wife is actually here [in England] with me now, with my son, and it's a great thing. Because over the years, it never really worked well because the music was always first. It ain't anymore, and that's why this record turned out as good as it is. Because my family is first… Well, my family is actually second. My faith is first, and then my family is second, and then the music is third. So because everything else is going so good, when I go into the guitar world and I put on my little headphones and pick up my guitar, it's like, 'OK, now it’s time to unleash the beast and to really, really just get it on.' Instead of being in character all day long, every day. 'Oh, look, it's Dave Mustaine.' 'Gosh, he was really nice, but when he got on stage, he was a monster.' That's what I like — I like getting on stage and being the guy that everybody thinks they know.”

“United Abominations” is released on May 15, with the following tracklisting:

01. Sleepwalker
02. Washington Is Next!
03. Never Walk Alone
04. United Abominations
05. Gears Of War
06. Blessed Are The Dead
07. Play For Blood
08. A Tout Le Monde (feat. Cristina Scabbia)
09. Amerikhastan
10. You're Dead
11. Burnt Ice

Check out the cover artwork at this location, and download “Sleepwalker” here.


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.