Tap for menu
Go
Creeper

Guerilla Junkie XL Gig

Posted on February 12, 2008

Last Saturday, 31st of May at 10:30 PM Junkie XL astonished the city of Amsterdam by doing an illegal live gig from a canal side house. The actual place was kept a secret until the last minute. As everyone needed to gather at the Noordermarkt the crowd started cheering as the place of the ‘Guerilla Gig’ was actually the Noordermarkt itself right in the old centre of Amsterdam! Almost 5.000 (!) people gathered at the Noordermarkt and the party crowd started dancing as soon as Junkie XL played his first tune from the immense PA which was set up at the canal side house. He used 3 floors from the building to thank Amsterdam for the inspiration the city had given him to writing his new album (Radio JXL Broadcast From The Computer Hell Cabin). After the gig Junkie XL thanked the crowd for being there and stated the following “This gig was a protest to the ongoing palling of the city Amsterdam. We did try to set up a surprise gig with approval of the council of the city of Amsterdam but with the strict political climate nothing seems possible anymore”. His new album “Radio JXL: Broadcast From The Computer Hell Cabin” is set for release the 2nd of June 2003. In other Junkie XL news, the very first broadcast of RADIO JXL is set for launch on Tuesday, June 3, at 2pm UK time. Make sure you’re at http://www.radiojxl.com. If you’re not in the UK, those times are as follows: Amsterdam: 3:00pm, June 3, 2003 New York: 9:00am, June 3, 2003 Vancouver: 6:00am, June 3, 2003 Tokyo: 10:00pm, June 3, 2003 Sydney: 11:00pm, June 3, 2003 You can catch Junkie XL live in Europe at: 5-6-2003 Oosterpoort, Groningen, Netherlands 9-6-2003 Pinkpop, Landgraaf, Netherlands 21-6-2003 Eins Live, Dusseldorf, Germany 28-6-2003 Roskilde, Denmark 4-7-2003 Rock The People, Cesky Brod, Czech Republic 5-7-2003 Forest Glade West, Imst / west of Innsbruck, Austria 6-7-2003 CSD Festival, Koln, Germany 19-7-2003 Open Air Dance Fest, vilnius, Lithuania 26-7-2003 MTV Party @ Maslak Park Orman, Istanbul, Turkey 2-8-2003 Dance Valley, Spaarnwoude, Netherlands 8-8-2003 Sonne Mond und Sterne Festival, Saalburg, Germany 15-8-2003 Lovefields, Hamburg, Germany 17-8-2003 Lovefields, Landgraaf, Netherlands 22-8-2003 Centro, Singapore, Singapore 23-8-2003 Indika FM 3rd Birthday / Indoor Tennis, Jakarta, Indonesia 30-8-2003 Pukkelpop Festival, Hasselt, Belgium 6-9-2003 ‘t Paard, Den Haag, Netherlands 29-10-2003 Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands Don’t forget, you can get your free exclusive Junkie XL MP3 by joining his MAILING LIST.

Subscribe

Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts

Submit

By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.