Roadrunner & Artist News

Get Your Mits On Early Fear Factory

Posted on February 12, 2008

Mark it on the calendar - Fear Factory's first and last offering, Concrete, is OUT NOW. Journey back to when this SoCal metal act was just beginning...hell, back when drummer Raymond Herrera was still in high school. Recorded in 1991, just about 1 year after the band formed, this 16 song recording secured Fear Factory a deal with Roadrunner, and was the start of a very bright future for a then unknown Ross Robinson. 16 tracks in total: 8 of which were re-recorded for 1992's Soul Of A New Machine debut, 4 of which have never been heard, and 4 which later morphed into other songs. Tells guitarist Dino Cazares, "Honestly, I think Concrete sounded better than Soul Of A New Machine. Ross is really good at capturing the moment." Be sure to read the new Fear Factory 'Concrete' biography.

Did you know it was also the very first record ever produced by Ross Robinson? Available on CD for around £12.99 from: HMV - £2 off with Download 2002 discount card + free 'Download 2002' sampler CD, Virgin/VShop - £2 off with voucher in current issue of Kerrang! (27/7), MVC, Sanity, Andys, Tower, and all good indies. The tracklisting is:

1. Big God/Raped Souls
2. Arise Above Oppression
3. Concrete
4. Crisis
5. Escape Confusion
6. Sangre De Ninos
7. Soulwomb
8. Echoes Of Innocence
9. Dragged Down By The Weight Of Existence
10. Deception
11. Desecrate
12. Sufferage
13. Anxiety
14. Self Immolation
15. Piss Christ
16. Ulceration

Not got their album 'Remanufacture' yet? Now's your chance - the album was re-released on mid-price on April 1st.

Comments & Sharing

More Headlines
« < 992| 993| 994| 995| 996| 997| 998| 999| 1000| >| »