Tap for menu
Dana Dentata


Posted on April 30, 2008

SATYRICON are set to release a new 5-track EP entitled ‘My Skin Is Cold’ on 2nd June.

Offering the first taste of new Satyricon material in over two years, the new EP also includes two tracks – ‘Live Through Me’ and ‘Existential Fear-Questions’ – that were excluded from 2002’s ‘Volcano’ album because, according to Satyr,

“they did not fit with the flow of the album, even though they are maybe even better than some of the songs that did make it on there”.

Closing with two extraordinary live tracks – ‘Mother North’ and ‘Repined Bastard Nation’ – recorded at Gjallahorn during the band’s triumphant show with musicians from the Norwegian Broadcasting Orchestra and the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra in November 2006, this is an essential collection of treasures from the Satyricon vault that should keep die-hard fans satisfied until the completion and release of the band’s forthcoming seventh full-length album which is due for release via Roadrunner on 3rd November.

“You could say that the new song is an indication of what the album will sound like, but it is not the whole story,” states Satyr. “The new songs are coming out really big, really grand. Some need time to crawl under your skin and others, they’ll strangle you from the first bar. It’s not operatic or theatrical, but it comes across as huge. It sounds like a journey. It’s emotional, it’s atmospheric, it’s grand and it’s epic. It’s overwhelming.”

The EP will be available as a CD / Vinyl package or as a digital bundle and the tracklisting is as follows:

1. MY SKIN IS COLD(exclusive)
2. LIVE THROUGH ME (Re-mastered, original version only released previously as bonus song on the LP edition of ”Volcano”)
3. EXISTENTIAL FEAR-QUESTIONS (Re-mastered, original version only released as bonus song on the LP edition of ”Volcano”)
4. REPINED BASTARD NATION (Live and turbocharged from the ”Gjallarhorn” show at Sentrum Scene, Oslo, November 2006)
5. MOTHER NORTH (Live from the ”Gjallarhorn” show at Sentrum Scene, Oslo, November 2006)

7″ Vinyl:
A. “My Skin Is Cold” (Newly recorded exclusive track)
B. “Mother North” (live from Gjallarhorn)

Meanwhile, Satyricon are currently rehearsing for the summer festival circuit in Europe, although it’ll be later in the year before we see them in the UK. Stay tuned for more album and tour news as we have it.

Check out a snippet of the title track at the official SATYRICON WEBSITE

Pre-order MY SKIN IS COLD or pick up their last offering NOW, DIABOLOICAL at the new ROADRUNNER STORE


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.