Tap for menu
Unto Others


Posted on August 18, 2010

KILLSWITCH ENGAGE guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz and former KsE vocalist Jesse Leach are reuniting for a brand new band, TIMES OF GRACE. Their stunning debut album The Hymn of A Broken Man is set for release via Roadrunner Records on November 8.

The multi-talented Dutkiewicz plays all the instruments on the record and contributes backing (and occasional lead) vocals as well as handling all production duties. This is the first time the duo have recorded together since the 2002 KsE classic Alive Or Just Breathing album (incidentally, also the last KsE record with Adam behind the drum kit before he switched to guitar). Although the band and album are centred on a nucleus of Adam and Jesse, Times Of Grace will also have a touring lineup.

While fans will no doubt be thrilled at the concept of the pair working together again, Times Of Grace, however, are not interested in fashioning Alive Or Just Breathing, Part II. It’s an entirely new project and represents a different musical path for both Adam D and Leach. It is an album of cleansing for each of them, exorcising internal demons to music that’s as aggressive as it is melodic.

“In all my life. I have yet to write a record that bares my soul as much as this record does,” Jesse explains. “Adam and I had a real spiritual connection while making this and I know that it comes through in the performances and lyrics. This record has our blood, sweat, and tears flowing through it. It is painfully honest at times. In short, this record is our catharsis.”

As for what Times Of Grace means personally to Adam, he says “Making this record was something completely new for me. It documents some of the most difficult, yet spirited times of my life in the past three-and-a-half years. A lot of the music and lyrics just came out of me while going through internal struggles, and writing these songs was the only comfort I could find. I reached out to Jesse to help sing and write these songs with me because of my respect for his musical abilities, and because of our great friendship…one that seems to not change no matter what happens in our lives. In the end, I am very proud of this record, and I feel it has helped me through some of my darkest days. I’m hoping that people will enjoy it, and also that it can maybe help others to keep the most positive mindset, even through the most trying of times.”

The album begins with the almost militaristic “Strength In Numbers,” which melds layered vocal melodies with thunderous drums, and the ferocious “Fight For Life”, which is balanced by Leach’s emotive vocals. “Willing” boasts a more contemplative yet just as feral vibe. There are moments of sheer beauty – the raw and elegant “Until The End Of Days” – and moments of true riffing majesty, as on the headbangin’ stompers “Live In Love and Hope Remains”. The album closes with the exquisite Fall From Grace, with Dutkiewicz on lead vocal duty. Times Of Grace are moving forward… and taking you with them.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Strength in Numbers
2. Fight For Life
3. Willing
4. Where The Spirit Leads Me
5. Until The End Of Days
6. Live In Love
7. In the Arms of Mercy
8. Hymn Of A Broken Man
9. Hope Remains
10. The End of Eternity
11. Worlds Apart
12. Fall From Grace

Watch this space for more news comong soon!

Bookmark and Share


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.