Tap for menu


Posted on February 4, 2010

COHEED & CAMBRIA have confirmed April 12 as the release date of ‘Year Of The Black Rainbow’, their heavily anticipated fifth studio album. The eagerly awaited prequel to ‘The Amory Wars’ tetralogy, ‘Year Of The Black Rainbow’ will be released by Roadrunner in both a standard format and a special edition including a 352-page ‘Year Of The Black Rainbow’ novel, penned by the band’s Claudio Sanchez and New York Times bestselling author Peter David. Sneak peeks at the new album’s artwork and other exclusive visuals can be seen at the official Coheed website. More information about the special edition and novel will be revealed in the coming weeks.

‘Year Of The Black Rainbow’ is produced by Atticus Ross (Nine Inch Nails, Jane’s Addiction) and Joe Barresi (Queens of the Stone Age, Tool). According to the Sanchez, “They have helped us evolve our sound to be more powerful and dynamic than ever and we think it’s definitely our best work to date.” The new record also features the studio debut of Coheed and Cambria drummer Chris Pennie, who has been playing alongside Sanchez, guitarist Travis Stever and bassist Michael Robert Todd since 2007 and was featured on ‘Neverender: Children of the Fence Edition’, the CD/DVD box set documentation of the autumn/winter 2008 four-night stands during which the band played their catalogue in its entirety, one album per night, in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, and London.

The album’s release will be preceded by a series of eight intimate club gigs in the USA. Coheed and Cambria are also confirmed for Coachella on April 17. UK dates will be announced shortly.

The complete track listing for ‘Year Of The Black Rainbow’ is as follows:

1. One
2. The Broken
3. Guns Of Summer
4. Here We Are Juggernaut
5. Far
6. The Shattered Symphony
7. World Of Lines
8. Made Out Of Nothing
9. Pearl Of The Stars
10. In The Flame Of Error
11. When Skeletons Live
12. The Black Rainbow

See a video teaser HERE

Bookmark and Share


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.