Tap for menu
Dana Dentata


Posted on March 14, 2009

Progressive metal veterans DREAM THEATER have announced Black Clouds & Silver Linings as the title of their tenth studio album. The band commenced work on the album – their second for Roadrunner Records, following up 2007’s Systematic Chaos – in October last year. Roadrunner will release the record on June 22. In addition to the standard version CD, the album will also be available on vinyl LP, as well as a three-disc Special Edition CD that will include the full album, a CD of instrumental mixes of the album and a CD of six cover songs, which will be revealed at a later date. Also in consideration is a super deluxe special edition package, though not yet confirmed.

The stunning artwork was once again designed by Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden)- check it out below!!

Drummer Mike Portnoy and guitarist John Petrucci return to the helm as producers, while Paul Northfield is mixing the record. The band will embark on a world tour in support of the album beginning in Europe throughout June which will be followed by the second edition of the band’s Progressive Nation tour throughout North America in July/August. A video for “A Rite Of Passage” will be shot in late March.

The track listing for Black Clouds & Silver Linings is as follows:
1. A Nightmare to Remember
2. A Rite of Passage
3. Wither
4. The Shattered Fortress
5. The Best of Times
6. The Count of Tuscany

Dream Theater play the following UK dates:
June 12th – Leeds Academy
June 13th – Southampton Guildhall
June 14th – Download Festival


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.