Tap for menu
Unto Others


Posted on July 24, 2008

Roadrunner Records is pleased to announce the signing of three eclectic new bands to an already diverse roster that includes heavyweights such as Slipknot, Dragonforce, Killswitch Engage, Nickelback and Machine Head. The label welcomes DOMMIN, MUTINY and PORT AMORAL to the fold.

Los Angeles-based goth rock quartet Dommin was discovered by Dirty Icon Productions, a company founded by producer Logan Mader, the former guitarist of longtime Roadrunner band, Machine Head. Led by the enigmatic frontman, guitarist and songwriter Kristofer Dommin, Dommin puts a refreshing spin on the romantic, dark goth sound, bringing a unified voice to the brokenhearted swarm of purposefully melancholic music fans who prefer not only to look at the glass as half-full but as cracked, too. Veteran A&R rep Monte Conner signed the band to the label and was quick to express his excitement, saying, “Dommin comes across as very fresh and unique in today’s landscape. Kristofer Dommin is their secret weapon. His vocals are absolutely compelling, and this is especially evident live where you can feel the power, passion and emotion of every word he sings.” Dommin’s line up is rounded out by keyboardist Konstantine, bassist Billy James and drummer Cameron. Check out the swell of black-hued, stormy and mysterious rock on the band’s heavily trafficked MySpace page, viewable at MySpace/dommin.

New Jersey-based Mutiny, a band of youngsters who play like a troupe of seasoned shred veterans, have also been added to the roster. The thoroughly metallic outfit was unearthed by A&R man Mike Gitter, who was blown away by the band’s live firepower. Gitter says, “The band was playing at a level so early in its career that most bands never touch. With the addition of [vocalist] Chris Clancy, they verge on unbeatable. Mutiny are truly the graduating valedictorians of Generation Guitar Hero.” With members ranging in age from 18 to 23, Mutiny’s line up is rounded out by bassist Andrew “AJ” Jacobs, guitarists Brandon Jacobs and Lu Obregon, keyboardist Drew Stavola, and drummer Bill Fiore. The Mutiny crew will spend the next few months toiling diligently in the Jacobs family’s basement and they won’t come out until they have an absolute metal classic on their hands. Turn your ears to the songs posted at MySpace.com/mutinynj.

Winnipeg, Canada’s melodic metal band Port Amoral also joins the Roadrunner family. The group formed in 2004 and is comprised of a tandem of brothers, vocalist/bassist Jared Weiss and guitarist Eric Weiss. The line up is rounded out by guitarist Andrew Campbell and drummer Matthew Hallick. Port Amoral were also signed by Conner, whose interest was initially sparked after hearing demos produced by Canada’s John Paul Peters (Comeback Kid, Waking Eyes) and taking in the energetic live show. “Port Amoral know how to craft songs with hooks and smart arrangements and their developed level of writing made me take notice,” explains Conner. For a taste of the guitar mastery that turned Conner onto the band, check out a demo of the complex mini-epic “Villains” at MySpace/portamoral. The band will record its Roadrunner debut with Colin Richardson (Bullet for My Valentine, Trivium) for a winter 2009 release.


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.