Tap for menu
Dana Dentata


Posted on February 12, 2008

ROADRUNNER “ALL- STARS” ALBUM, A CELEBRATION OF LABEL’S 25TH ANNIVERSARY New York, NY – Roadrunner Records is in the process of putting together a groundbreaking record to mark the label’s 25th Anniversary. Tentatively titled “Roadrunner All-Stars”, the full length release, a ‘master-class’ in hard rock, will contain original tracks that are collaborations between past and present Roadrunner stars. Four central musicians will be chosen to produce and write all the songs. Those chosen thus far are Joey Jordison (Slipknot), Dino Cazares (ex-Fear Factory/Brujeria) and Robert Flynn (Machine Head). The fourth writer/producer is yet to be named. These four musicians will not only play on the songs they have written but also assemble a unique team of artists to appear on each track. In order to cover as wide a spectrum as possible, no musician will play for more than one writer/producer and each song will feature a different vocalist. Musicians who have already recorded for this project are Dino Cazares (ex-Fear Factory/Brujeria), Andreas Kisser (Sepultura), Paul Gray (Slipknot), Roy Mayorga (ex-Soulfly), Logan Mader (ex-Machine Head), Marcelo Dias (ex-Soulfly), Dave McClain (Machine Head), Nadja Peulen (ex-Coal Chamber) and Mike Sarkisyan (Spineshank). Some other musicians not yet confirmed but expected to participate are: Max Cavalera (Soulfly/ex-Sepultura), King Diamond (King Diamond/ex-Mercyful Fate), Mark Hunter (Chimaira), Keith Caputo (Life Of Agony), Daryl Palumbo (Glassjaw), Andols Herrick (ex-Chimaira), Trevor Peres (Obituary), James Murphy (ex-Obituary/Disincarnate), Mick Thomson (Slipknot), Kyle Thomas (ex-Exhorder), Matt DeVries (Chimaira), Matt Baumbach (ex-Vision Of Disorder), Rhys Fulber (Fear Factory/Front Line Assembly), members of Killswitch Engage and many more. “I am really excited about having the opportunity to be a part of this landmark event,” says writer/producer Robert Flynn. “I just got Andols (ex-Chimaira) locked in as the drummer, and Mick from Slipknot on guitar, so I’m f***ing stoked! Congrats to RR for lasting 25 years, we’ll drink a beer, or four, in their honor!” Writer/Producer Dino Cazares adds “It was a great honor to get to play with some of my friends in other Roadrunner bands. I’m excited for everyone to hear the songs I’ve written.” Andreas Kisser of Sepultura adds, “I think it was a great idea to do this album, especially for the opportunity to play with great musicians that I know so well but didn’t have the chance to do something with. It was amazing to play with Dino, Roy and Paul. We got along very well and the songs are brutal – really heavy, bringing back some old memories and feelings. I hope to do this live sometime. I hope everybody will enjoy listening to this as much as we enjoyed making it.” “I’m really looking forward to the upcoming RR All-Stars record. Mainly for the chance to work with musicians whom I’ve respected for years and have been heavily inluenced by. Expect a unique record of collaborations of artists through the 25 years of RR,” concludes Joey Jordison of Slipknot. The project is being overseen by longtime Roadrunner A&R man Monte Conner. Mixing duties will be handled by legendary hard rock producer, Colin Richardson. The album is tentatively scheduled for release in the Fall of 2005.


Enter your email to subscribe to our regular newsletter & new music alerts


By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Roadrunner Records, based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.